Dr. NutsNBolts

Unloading 25 years worth of life from my oversized handbag 1 day at a time

Me in May

On a light private practice surgery rotation this month my only objectives are 2: operate till my intrinsic hand muscles get buff and live/love my life. Here are some simple ways I intend on doing just that:

  1. Be aggressive, MAYbe aggressive: get into the OR at all costs. As it turns out, attendings in private practice love working with residents from academic institutions most of the time. They tend to be excellent teachers as well which makes for a very pleasant operative experience, if you ask me. The perfect soil for a young intern.
  2. Read the following:

    Corner Office: 5 habits of Highly Effective CEOs. All future leaders’ guide to leadership in 21st century America

    The ICU Book by Marino. Less pleasurable, but equally necessary. Part of a master preparation for 2nd year.

    Get my workout on. Two things that turn this Georgia girl on are fitness and…..

    ….Fooooooood!! Which brings me to another goal….

  3. Self control please! Stress of residency has led me to lose all self control with respects to food…. as well as other things. Trying to stay out of trouble this month 🙂
  4. Paint a little bit. Art takes the edge from life for some reason. The best part is it really doesn’t matter if I’m good at it
  5. Friends are priceless. Period. Make them count.

Oh, and I decided that I am happily an introvert. I used to be extroverted but have grown to spend so much time in my head recently that I truthfully have been lying to myself calling myself an extrovert.

More later as usual.

DNB

May 5, 2012 - Posted by | Books, Life, Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment