Dr. NutsNBolts

Unloading 25 years worth of life from my oversized handbag 1 day at a time

The write thing to do

…is to write it down apparently. Studies increasingly show that people who write down goals, dreams, and aspirations (both long term and short term are more likely to achieve them). I’m assuming this applies to 2012 new years resolutions too? shoulder shrug

  1. Spend more 1:1 time praying and reflecting. I’d love to get to know God more. I think doing this will enable me to better appreciate his omnipotence and consequentially allow me to more effortlessly have faith
  2. Live an active lifestyle: currently this is being done through my LAF membership 6 times a week. Did i mention the sauna?
  3. Expand my cooking skill set. A never ending goal 🙂 . Interestingly enough, SAHMs are the BEST resources for this. They spend a lot of time reflecting about this topic in addition to organization of home life, etc.
  4. Organize my life. Need I say more.
  5. Make some meaningful steps in my career: MPH vs MPP….. transplant surgery vs vascular surgery vs endocrine.
  6. Stay in better touch with family using a variety of creative techniques. I have 3 brothers, an older half sister, a grandma, and a dad that live in the US with me. They all have different personalities and interests. Therein lie different opportunities for me to connect with them
  7. Resume self expression. One of the most challenging aspects of surgery residency is finding ways to continually express yourself on a daily basis. For me this usually takes place through my hair, clothing, and jewelry. But between the world of scrubs and the strict rules of the OR, it seems that this has gotten chopped out of my life… giving me little incentive to shop for myself anymore. I’d effectively like to get my sexy back :-). And now’s as good a time as any to do it!
  8. Develop a regimen for surgical self education on a daily or at least weekly basis.

More later on how exactly I plan on achieving these things.

NNB

January 2, 2012 - Posted by | Life, self help | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment